Arrival Moscow

 

St. Basil's Cathedral, Moscow

St. Basil

My plane to Moscow had a late arrival at 2130, and was a bit delayed, so I didn’t make it to “Novo Hostel” where I was to stay until sleeping time for me. I paid for to be picked up at the airport by the hostel, which I immedatly regretet, due to I had to pay extra fee for the delay, and it was for to expensive anyway. The hostel is easy to find, even by night, and there are lots of money to be saved by travelling on public transport. From Domodedovo airport it is very convenient now, with the new express train to the Pavlets station. From there you can take the metro anywhere.

Bicycle for rent, Novo Hostel, Moscow. This is it.

Bicycle for rent, Novo Hostel, Moscow. This is it.

The hostel made a poor first impression, but as I write this in retrospect, it very much improved during my stay, and I would easily go back there if I return to Moscow on budget accomodation. You may use wireless Internet for free, and if you don’t have a laptop, there is one in the appartment, and it is almost always free. All throught the week I stayed there I made excellent company with the other guests, and with the host, Alex, who in addition is a decent chessplayer. Challenge him for a game!

Me in Novo Hostel, Moscow

Me in Novo Hostel, Moscow

Novo hostel is placed in Kitaj Gorod, and everyone may see at a glance, this is very central. You just go straight ahead down the road (Ulitsa Maroseyka) to the Red square. This glance on the map made me so optimistic, I decided to try the walk without the map, with the result I went straight in the opposite direction. Where there was nothing to see.

What you actually see if you go in the opposite direction up Ulitsa Pokrovka, instead of down ul Maroseyka in Moscow, Kitay Gorod

What you actually see if you go in the opposite direction up Ulitsa Pokrovka, instead of down ul Maroseyka in Moscow, Kitay Gorod

Novo Hostel shoul be avoided for people allergic to smoke or cats though. People who love smoking and cats, should hesitate no more on deciding where to stay in Moscow.

 
One of the Stalin gotic monsters in Moscow

One of the Stalin gotic monsters in Moscow

One Response to Arrival Moscow

  1. thanks – I’m headed to Moscow tomorrow so appreciate the tips.

Leave a Reply

